unifi*records – #RapLords [Album]

Posted on November 15, 2015 by


RapLords consider themselves more of a collective than a members-only group. “We’ve always been about collaboration. It’s who we are,” says Uni.Fi owner and #RapLords co-producer, Dima “White Russian” Pochtarev. “Dana, SPEAK and Mammyth are the core team, but RapLords includes anyone we bring into the fold to work with us. It’s a constantly-rotating crew of really good co-conspirators we consider part of the family. Most people will tell you that collaboration is why the Milwaukee scene is blowing up right now. We’re doing this together.”

The first single, “2 mph” which was premiered on URB.COM, is a new school spin on DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince’s classic “Summertime.” The track moves fluidly from laid back 90s vibes (“2 mph” and “Coolin’” featuring Signif) to an edgier mood (“CRWN” featuring Skyzoo and “Intrinsic Behavior” featuring Guilty Simpson).  The second single/video “2015 Excursions” premiered on OkayPlayer.com (OKP)

During the last three years, Coppafeel and fellow Uni.Fi Records’ labelmate SPEAK Easy have worked as a duo, putting out a handful of well-received projects with the help of super engineer/dj/producer, Mammyth. Over time, Mammyth’s vision began pushing their sound to a new level, prompting the two established emcees to formally adopt him and officially put a name to the crew — RapLords.

Milwaukee has become fertile ground for hip-hop lately, so it’s no surprise that rap collective RapLords are announcing the release of their debut album, #RapLords on indie label Uni-Fi Records. The 12 track project is available now and includes an impressive list of local and national features, such as Skyzoo, Guilty Simpson, Open Mike Eagle, Punchline, Haz Solo, Signif, Von Alexander, J.J. Jabber and Vincent VanGREAT.

Posted in: Mixtapes/Albums